The Fort Mose Historical Society, a 501 (C) (3) non-profit educational and charitable organization, is dedicated to bringing this story to the American people and the people of the world, so it will no longer be a part of our hidden history. We began meeting in 1995, the same year that Fort Mose was declared a National Historic Landmark by the U.S. government. We were incorporated in 1996 to serve as the official Citizens Support Organization for the Fort Mose Historic State Park, which operates and manages the Fort Mose site as part of the Florida Park Service. We were instrumental in encouraging the State of Florida to acquire land and construct a museum and we sponsor many public programs to increase knowledge of the Fort Mose story.  We welcome your membership and support as we continue the work needed to fulfill the mission of the Fort Mose Historic State Park.

2016 Board of Directors

Charles Ellis – President
Lawson Dukes – Vice President
Thomas Jackson – Treasurer
Melissa A Schuster – Secretary
Cecile Browning Nusbaum
Dr. Richard Shortlidge
Dr. Dorothy H. Israel
Mildred Williams
Viola W. White
Meri McCarthy
Franklin Givens
Twila Hudson
Robert Nimmons

Advisory Board Members

Joe Boles
Ron Rawls
Ron Stafford
Otis Mason
Errol Jones
David Nolan
Bernard Scott
Tom Tibbitts
F D Richardson
Lorenzo Laws
Clarence Williams
Hank White
Reggie Smith
Cerita Battles
Pete Cowdrey
Dr. Joseph Finnegan
Tonya Creamer
Madeline Holtz
Dr. Gregory McLeod
Ruth Motley